Text by Nadia Shah for Hype magazine

“And it kicks so hard/ It breaks your bones/ Cuts so deep/ It hits your soul/ Tears your skin and/ Makes your blood flow/ It’s better that you know/ That love is hard” in “Love is Hard

Pure, honest lyrics that speak from the heart and are all too easy to relate to. That’s what you get in James Morrison’s eagerly-anticipated Songs for You, Truths for Me.

The 24-year-old British bloke says of his second venture, “I’ve called the album Songs for You, Truths for Me because that’s what I feel it is.

“It’s songs for Gill (his long-term girlfriend) and everyone else. But for me they’re truths. They’re how I feel.”

Fans of his raw voice and mellow tunes will love tracks like single “You Make It Real”, bluesy number “The Only Night”, and “Broken Strings”, a collaboration with Canadian star Nelly Furtado.

James’ got discovered in the music biz after the release of his 2006 debut album, which was titled, ironically, Undiscovered.

He shot to fame with five hits, including “You Give Me Something” and “The Pieces Don’t Fit Anymore”, both of which were inspired by Gill.

The debut album, which has sold over 2 million copies worldwide, has bagged him titles like biggest selling British male solo artist in 2006 and Best Male for the 2007 BRIT Awards – great success for someone who was only 21 at that time.

And his musical talent just keeps growing – Songs for You, Truths for Me shows him to be a wiser man than he was 3 years ago.

Whether you’re looking for soulful tracks for slow dancing with your partner, or backdrop music for moments of self indulgence, you’ll find them in James’ easy listening tunes.

4.5 / 5 stars


01. The Only Night (Sample)

02. Save Yourself

03. You Make It Real (Sample)

04. Please Don’t Stop The Rain

05. Broken Strings (Sample)

06. Nothing Ever Hurt Like You

07. Once When I Was Little

08. Precious Love

09. If You Don’t Wanna Love Me

10. Fix The World Up For You

11. Dream On Hayley

12. Love Is Hard