One and a half years in the making, Super Junior has made their comeback with their third and newest album, Sorry, Sorry.

The whole album is a mix of genres, but a running theme in the album seems to be depressing, unrequited love. While there is a good balance of songs, I would have appreciated having more up-tempo dance tracks.

Music Video

Nick Bass and Trent Dickens, the creators of Justin Timberlake’s sexy choreography in “My Love” are the ones responsible for the cool moves in this MV.


1. 쏘리쏘리/ Sorry, Sorry, is a dance pop number. The representative track of the album, it is about a man who declares how a confident woman has mesmerized him. The rhythm and the lyrics are repetitive and catchy; perhaps in an attempt to claim the charts in ways that SNSD’s Gee, and the Wonder Girls’ Nobody have done.

2. 니가 좋은 이유/ Why I Like You caught my attention instantly. The contemporary, dance-pop love song has an addictive beat and a memorable chorus. It is a song about the reasons a man has for loving his girlfriend. I feel that this would have done better as the representative track of the album, because while being the type of song to get stuck in your head, it caries more of a melody than Sorry, Sorry.

3. 마주치지 말자/ Let’s Not (literal English title translation: Let’s not meet each other again) is an emotional ballad sung by the three main vocalists of Super Junior: Yehsung, Ryeowook and Kyuhyun (SJ:KRY). Partially composed by Hwanhee of Fly To The Sky fame, it tells the story of a person who initiates a sad breakup. KRY carries the song beautifully, with authentic emotion that translates well to the song.

4. 앤젤라/ Angela reminds me of old-school pop at the beginning. This song stands out from the rest simply because it uses all 13 members’ voices more distinctly rather than slotting solo lines for each member. While the medium-tempo song sounds cheerful enough, the lyrics are about a guy who chooses to stay by the side of the girl he likes, as her best friend.

5. Reset is another medium-tempo piece. While it sounds good enough, with the typical melody followed by a rap, I can’t help but feel that something is lacking. Perhaps it is in the way Super Junior’s attempts to harmonize falls short in certain parts. The song feels like it belongs more in their previous album, Don’t Don.

6. Monster is peppered with electronic undertones. Halfway through the album, it recaptures my attention. It presents a more ‘mature’ and sexy sound with a hint of r&b compared to the pop beats prior. The lyrics are quite interesting: they are about a man, who tries to warn his girlfriend of his possessive streak, but is at the same time held captive by his woman’s charms. So, who is the monster?

7. What If, even without the English translation, already tells a sad story on its own, which is a feat in itself. Performed by four members, SJ:KRY and Sungmin, this slow love song is one of my favourites in this album. The arrangement complements the pleasant melody. What If tells the story of a man’s unrequited love, a common theme in the whole album.

8. 이별… 넌 쉽니/ HeartQuake “feat. Yunho and Yoochun of TVXQ!” (literal English title translation: Is farewell easy for you?) is easily my favourite track from the whole album. The track alternates between rap and a soothing melody with a background of violins and an appealing beat. The lyrics show the anger and hurt of a lover who was left with quickly souring memories of their relationship.

9. Club No.1 “feat. Lee Yeonhee” is another dance track, but with a heavier beat. It sounds experimental, and reminds me of a matured version of Super Junior’s older songs such as U. This song is nowhere near being my favourite, and feels out of place in the album.

10. Happy Together is a pleasant and uplifting mid-tempo song composed by Lee Jaemyung, who also wrote Marry U, the second representative track from Super Junior’s previous album, Don’t Don. Much like his previous collaboration with Super Junior, the song is a soothing listen, meant to create a cheery mood.

11. 죽어있는 것…/ Dead At Heart (literal English title translation: Being dead…) is yet another angsty song about a man who yearns for his lover who has left him dwelling in memories of their relationship (therefore being dead to the world). While the slow ballad is pleasant enough with points where the harmonization is ear-catching, it feels like continuation of What If.

12. Shining Star is a mid-tempo love song professing one’s love for his girlfriend. The chorus is upbeat and breezy, and the whole song leaves one in a good mood, an excellent song to end with.


02 . 니가 좋은 이유 (Why I like you)
03 . 마주치지 말자 (Let’s not…)
04 . 앤젤라 (Angela)
05 . RESET
07 . WHAT IF
08 . 이별… 넌 쉽니(Heartquake)
09 . CLUB No.1
11 . 죽어있는 것 (Dead at heart)

Image from Super Junior Official Website